Page 1 of 1
Saving user settings before installing upgrade
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2024 12:43 pm
by CaptJP
I have upgraded to release 13. Every time I install an upgrade, I loose my toolbar settings, support paths and "classic" layout. Then, I need to rebuild all the toolbar layouts. In AutoCAD, I used to save a "settings" file which I could then restore. Is there a current "settings" file I can export and then import into the new version??? Thanks
Re: Saving user settings before installing upgrade
Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2024 3:36 am
by sln8458
I know your frustration, been there sooo many times
My work around for toolbar layouts uses Workspaces.
These can be copied/Transfered across from an old cui file in the Customise User Interface.
Re: Saving user settings before installing upgrade
Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2024 6:24 pm
by CaptJP
Sin,
Thank you so much for helping me out with this matter. It is much appreciated.
CaptJP
Re: Saving user settings before installing upgrade
Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2024 1:46 am
by sln8458
Can you explain a little what you mean by 'Classic Layout' ?
If you mean using toolbars in place of the Ribbon. Place your mouse over an empty area of the main menu (to the right of HELP) and right click and select switch to menu bar.
(note: it you add a toolbar with different Workspace icons for your different Workspace toolbar layouts. These will also save the switch from Ribbon to Menu Bar)
Sorry if that is not clear.
-----------
I have 2 workspace configs, 1 for 3D work & 1 for 2D work. I have a single icon toolbar in each setup which resets the config to the other config.
eg: in 3D I have an icon to reset to 2D, and in 2D I have one to reset to 3D. So I can toggle between each as required.