Calculate area

New to IntelliCAD? Get started here with basic questions and answers.

Moderators: CMS Inc, avaernes

Post Reply
columbiastaver
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 5:06 am

Calculate area

Post by columbiastaver » Tue Jan 15, 2013 10:59 am

Hello

Can anyone help with simple instructions on how to calculate the area of a simple 2D shape?

Thanks in advance
Tim
User avatar
CMS Inc
Site Admin
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:01 am
Location: Burleson, TX
Contact:

Post by CMS Inc » Mon Mar 04, 2013 5:14 am

With CMS IntelliCAD 7.2, use boundary polyline command to pick an inner point, then a closed polyline should be created. At that point just use AREA command and select ENTITY to retrieve the boundary polyline area and perimeter (that's also available).
Accuright
Valued Contributor
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:19 pm

Post by Accuright » Tue Apr 16, 2013 10:10 am

We often have to find the area of a 2d boundary in our CAD environment. Sometimes our boundaries have curves on them. So far, using the BOUNDARY command on a shape with a curve will create a polyline, but typically draws the polyline on the chord of the arc instead of drawing the polyline along the arc. So, a boundary with a curve becomes a boundary of all straight lines.

I've found a way around this. Make a copy of all the entities that create your area. With all these entities selected, use the REGION command. This command will create a region around your boundary. You can see the region's area under geometry in the properties window.
Post Reply