How about Linux?

New to IntelliCAD? Get started here with basic questions and answers.

Moderators: CMS Inc, avaernes

Post Reply
Lukasz Kozicki
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:01 am
Location: Gdynia, Poland

How about Linux?

Post by Lukasz Kozicki » Sat Jan 08, 2005 5:58 pm

I am downloading a demo of IC right now, and I am going to try to install it with wine (windows emulator) on Debian GNU/Linux. If it works, I will probably purchase an IC soon. Does anyone have some experience with installing IC on a Linux box? And, dare to ask, is there any Linux version of IC expected?
avaernes
Valued Contributor
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2000 11:01 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post by avaernes » Mon Jan 10, 2005 5:18 am

A wine-friendly version (currently in beta) is being developed by Bricscad. I don't know if/when this work will become available to other Intellicad vendors.
I have tried the Bricscad wine version on Fedora, but I don't consider it working for a production environment. It is much too sluggish, unusable with anything but small drawings. Graphichs processing seems to be a major obstacle when running on wine.

Some old pages about Intellicad on Wine. http://www.dragon-designs.net/~cad-tast ... page1.html
J. Marsden DeLapp, PE
Valued Contributor
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by J. Marsden DeLapp, PE » Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:20 am

I have converted most of my business to run on Debian Gnu/Linux. The one real problem I had was how to do CAD work on Gnu/Linux machines. I tried several things and the best solution I found was to use VMware to install Windows XP to run Icad in a virtual machine running on top of Debian Gnu/Linux. This configuration works well to run Icad in a production environment.

If you are interested in CAD on Linux you should join the CAD-Linux email list at: http://www.freelists.org/list/cad-linux

Mars
InsideOut
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 11:01 pm
Location: Denver, CO, USA

Post by InsideOut » Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:21 pm

I just installed the current beta (v5.1.0012) on Mepis Debian with WINE on the KDE desktop and it works WAY faster than all previous versions I've tried. Brics said they optimized some code to speed-up redraw and graphics, it looks to me like it worked.

In Debian, the .rpm didn't work correctly for me, so on the download page just replace the .rpm with .tgz (bricscad-5.1.0012-1.i386.tgz). After download just install manually and it should work fine.

It's getting better each release and gives me optimism for IntelliCAD on the Linux platform.

Rob

[This message has been edited by InsideOut (edited 01-28-2005).]
William Bagwell
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:01 pm
Location: Jasper GA USA

Post by William Bagwell » Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:56 am

Is Bricscad still the only choice for linux?

Will it run under CodeWeavers Crossover? Since I have paid for CXO would rather not muck around with plain Wine.
CAD_B
Valued Contributor
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by CAD_B » Sat Jul 01, 2006 3:47 pm

I have heard that there is a linux version of Progesoft Intellicad, but I have not seen it myself.
Post Reply